Museum Sketches 5

P1030680

Both of these statues are from China, the statue on the left of the Buddhist monk was what I decided to focus my drawing studies on (https://sophiehatton.wordpress.com/2013/10/27/conclusion-of-museum-project/) as you can see here. The face is very, very simply done as I wanted to focus mainly on the lines and shadows and I am still trying to teach myself how to blend from absolute black to a line, I am gradually getting the hand of it. More than anything I found the shape of the body/robes interesting, and challenging to draw.  When drawing the final it took me about four attempts to get it right.

The drawing on the right if I’m honest I can’t remember exactly what she was called, I loved the style of the head dress and the shape of the robe. Its a very simple drawing as it had to be quickly done. In truth I wish I had, had more time to spend on it.

 

Leave a Reply

